Posted in Life, Rabbinical School

Wonder Woman- Sex and the City- It’s Really Happening

So it’s a post about a lot of things.

Wonder Woman

The other day, we took a school trip to see Wonder Woman (it was the last day of school and we needed something that was mobility friendly). I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it (I go to about one movie a year, and it is definitely not a super hero movie).

The movie made be both laugh and cry.

The land of the Amazon’s was like no all women’s space that I have ever been in. It was a place of strength and beauty. They were not complaining or feeling sad about being single or the worries of their relationships. They were not broken, hurt or in pain from not being treated with respect. They were not fighting for their legitimacy. And so they were able to be strong and push one another to be strong, without it being that they have to be stronger than men. They were not trying to prove anything or be better than anyone. They were just strong.

The sexual tension was great and funny. What happens when the woman is both gorgeous, smart, and strong willed. She was able to find someone who, be it took a while, was able to accept her for who she is, and still love her. I hope that is true in my world too…

Wonder Woman was portrayed as someone who cares about the world and is incredibly strong- both physically and emotionally. She has to make hard choices, ones that give her great personal loss in order to help the greater good. But she is also able to form relationships. And even with all of her own personal loss, and first hand view of the ugliness of the world, she still is able to believe in human kindness and love.

Some quotes that I loved:

“It’s not about what you deserve. It’s about what you believe. And I believe in love. Only love will truly save the world.”

“I used to want to save the world, to end war and bring peace to mankind. But then I glimpsed the darkness that lives within their light. I learnt that inside every one of them there will always be both. The choice each must make for themselves – something no hero will ever defeat. And now I know… that only love can truly save the world. So now I stay, I fight, and I give – for the world I know can be. This is my mission now, for ever.”


Sex and the City

I started watching Sex and the City. I’ve never watched it before, at least not regularly. I find it fascinating because it is so different than my life experience. I am around the same age as they are (at least in the first season- I’m 31), so it is also interesting to see how they are living their lives.

They each have their own apartment (makes me want to continue living on my own). They each are very successful in their jobs. They love living in the city.

There are things that are SO different than mine. Like I almost never wear heels, and definitely not $500 pairs (I don’t even own a pair that costs even half of that). I also question how it is possible that every place they go, each is able to pick up a new guy and bring him home. I’m not saying that I want to or would sleep with every guy that I meet- but I don’t even get asked on a date when I go places. Is it that I am doing something wrong or going to the wrong places? Or is it just for a good story line?

But there are ideas that I think are very true. The talking about the fears of being single, and things we do to quiet those fears. The look people give when you are “of a certain age” and not married. The fear of what happens if I am too old to have children by the time I “settle down”. The makers of “making it”- having one’s own space, having a job, having good friends.

Something I do love is the confidence all four women have when walking down the street. They all walk as if they own New York. Yesterday, I did not bring a rain coat to shul and it started pouring. I was going to a person I didn’t know for lunch and got drenched- there was nothing I could do. And there I was walking the streets of New York, in a beautiful blue dress, heels and pearls, drenched. It was great I made eye contact with other people in the same situation and we just smiled at one another. I just stood up tall and enjoyed the process of what I must look like to others, and the entire walk over I just thought of myself like Carrie Bradshaw. To make it even better- when I was walking home (it was no longer raining), a woman stopped me to tell me how great my dress was, and how fitting my hair was to the style of dress.


It’s Really Happening

Today is the day! Today is the day that I receive my smicha, and really become a rabbi. I am in shock and awe that this day has really come. It has been a long and sometimes exhausting journey, but I did it.

I have many more thoughts, but I need to shower and get dressed for the big event.

I hope that I can have the confidence, flair and creativity of the women on Sex and the City, and the strength, grace and love of Wonder Woman. 🙂

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

