Posted in Quotes

Inner Light in a Time of Darkness

I was reading “We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For: Inner Light in a Time of Darkness” by Alice Walker, and there are two poems that really hit me this week.

When Life Descends into the Pit (pg. 39)

When life descends into the pit

I must become my own candle

Willingly burning myself

To light up the darkness

Around me

When We Let Spirit Lead Us (pg. 181-182)

We we let Spirit

Lead us

It is impossible

To know

Where

We are being led.

All we know

All we can believe

All we can hope

Is that

We are going

Home

That wherever

Spirit

Takes us

Is where

We live.

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

