Posted in Life

Virtually Marching

I’m not going to the march tomorrow – but I wish that I was.

I’m not going because I’m overwhelmed. I couldn’t fathom figuring out how to get to DC, back from DC, somewhere to sleep, figure out Shabbat plans and everything else that needed to be done. I then found out about the march in New York, but I already made plans to see someone very close to me, which allows me to be with someone who knows me and supports me, which is what I need right now, because I really feel lost and alone.

But I want to be there.

I want to be with other women supporting women, because there is so much against us.

I think that there is a lot of fear right now- fear because of gender; fear because of race; fear because of religion.

There is a fear of what will happen when people who have hurt others come into real power. What does it say about our society when we have people in power who speak disgustingly, who are constantly putting others down; who are making others feel scared for their well-being or existence…is that really what others think?

One way to combat fear is to have a group of people. People supporting others, so that they are not feeling alone- which is the worst part of fear.

I think we need to stand together to regain what we deserve. We deserve health care (I haven’t paid for health care in 7 years because I wasn’t in the US, I don’t understand  how this is not the case here).We deserve the right to our own bodies- why do people think they are still allowed to tell me what I can and can’t do with my own body.We deserve to live in a country and not be afraid to walk in streets; or go to our places of worship; or speak our opinions. We deserve to feel safe.

It is a momentous occasion that so many women around the world are gathering together to support one another. It is a momentous occasion that women are creating this great gathering that will be filled with men, women and children gathering together, saying that they will be together and not give up. They will continue to fight and be there for one another in this fight for what is right and just.

The rhetoric of the past election cycle has insulted, demonized, and threatened many of us – immigrants of all statuses, Muslims and those of diverse religious faiths, people who identify as LGBTQIA, Native people, Black and Brown people, people with disabilities, survivors of sexual assault – and our communities are hurting and scared. We are confronted with the question of how to move forward in the face of national and international concern and fear.

In the spirit of democracy and honoring the champions of human rights, dignity, and justice who have come before us, we join in diversity to show our presence in numbers too great to ignore. The Women’s March on Washington will send a bold message to our new government on their first day in office, and to the world that women’s rights are human rights. We stand together, recognizing that defending the most marginalized among us is defending all of us.

We support the advocacy and resistance movements that reflect our multiple and intersecting identities. We call on all defenders of human rights to join us. This march is the first step towards unifying our communities, grounded in new relationships, to create change from the grassroots level up. We will not rest until women have parity and equity at all levels of leadership in society. We work peacefully while recognizing there is no true peace without justice and equity for all.

HEAR OUR VOICE

And so here I am. I wish I was going to be one the ground somewhere, but I am not. I want to be part of the group standing together. I want to be part of the fight; to fight for what is right and just.  Even though I will not be standing among the crowds in the physical streets, I am placing myself among the crowds of the virtual streets. I am here. I am part of the march. I am part of the movement.

May we all find the ability and strength to continue to support those who need support. May we also continue to find the ability and strength to step aside for a moment so we can support ourselves. May we never give up the fight for what is right and just in the world.

 

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

