Posted in Life

Expect the Unexpected/IT IS TIME TO GO DO!

A semi-political rambling post.

I think I might be like many people in the world right now a bit confused about how this could happen. I saw the results of the US election and I started laughing. I did not think that he could be elected. I saw him as someone who people made fun of. Someone who really hurt people. Someone who has no experience in the field. Yet, here we are, and he is the president of the United States of America.

Earlier today I started writing about something else. About being in the place of unknowing. About watching the election from Australia- where for the first time I was actually awake for the entire count (at least one positive from a 16 hour time difference). About watching alone, as for the first time I was not with other expats.

I was thinking about writing about reading all of the posts from the Facebook group PantsuitNation. Some heartwarming, some just showing pride, some showing that some people out there actually care about the world (which is kinda nice to notice at times). I thought about what it means to be a woman today and the options that are there. I also thought about why it has to be a big deal that she is a woman, and the sadness of that (that will be for a later post with more concrete ideas).

But for whatever reason (and I am aware there are a lot of theories out there), the US decided they wanted Donald Trump to be their leader. Part of me feels like there is not so much we can do about that. Although I do think that we are not powerless, although the way to power is a more difficult path.

I think that this is the time not to fight (there was too much of that), but rather to build. When I find myself in a place where things are not going the way that I think they should, I stop and think how can I change it. What do I need to create to make what is happening better? So maybe I reach out to people and work on my own. It is up to us to create centers and places to help those in need. It is up to us to create a ‘safe space’ for those who are persecuted. It is up to us to just be kind to others around us.

Many of these things don’t need a lot of money or time. We just have to look around us. Look at what there already is, and improve on it. We have to reach out. We have to create. We don’t need big people to create change, we just need at least one other. If there is anything I have learned in life, it is my needs and wants are not unique, there are others who need or want the same things as I do. I just have the ability to create, and so I do. I know I must not be the only one out there with that ability.

And so if you have that ability (or even just the desire, let this be your push) then you MUST go and create. Start small. Start with your home. Make it a place that feels warm and that all those who reside in it feel supported. Start inviting others into your home and let them feel the same way. Smile to people on the street on your way to work or the store or whatever you are doing. Just be kind to those around you. Donate to organizations that need your money (or volunteer there or both). Then look at your community, your town, your city and think what is needed. What can be done with volunteers or a very small budget. BE CREATIVE! It is amazing what happens when you think out of the box. Create a day care program at the same time as a senior day care program and have them do exercise or art together.An amazing bond can/will form, and you are helping both groups, and saving space and maybe even staff (just as a random idea).

The other thing that I want to learn from this election is expect the unexpected. So many people did not expect him to win. So many said that he would never get as far as he did. So expect the unexpected. This means that there is always a possibility to actually do what we want to do. There is nothing that can’t happen. It’s like pigs are flying.

So what are you waiting for? It is time to stop being in shock (and potential mourning). And it is time to go do! Go do what you need to create a better world. Go do things to create a place that is more accepting, loving, caring. Go do what is needed so that people are not afraid or in need.

Go do what you have been dreaming and hoping of- because, well, expect the unexpected.

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

