Posted in Daily Prompt, Life

Waiting for…Godot?

“Waiting for Godot” is one of my favorite plays. It has been since I first read as part of my required reading the summer before sophomore year of high school. I found the play funny. I found the play so true to life.

Yes, I know it is a weird story of two guys just waiting around. And yes, they are both ridiculous. But think about it, how often are we just waiting for something, and we don’t even know what. Or how often are we just sitting around waiting – waiting for someone to arrive; waiting for an answer from someone else; waiting for test results; waiting to see if we got a job. The list can go on.

And so, what do we do during that time of waiting?

Sometimes we can go about our “regular” lives. We go food shopping, we go to work, we cook, we clean, we go out with friends, we play a game on our phone. But sometimes the thing we are waiting for just puts us in limbo, and we just have to wait. There is nothing that we can do to fill that space. Or we are too nervous for the thing we are waiting that we can’t concentrate on anything else – which could lead us to the absurd (ok, I know when I have too much time to think or worry it always going to the absurd).

At times I want to believe that I have control in the things I am waiting for, but really, I don’t. I don’t think that waiting always has to be a passive act, one can be proactive or productive during that waiting period.

I want to get married, but I just have to wait to find the right person. And this waiting period (at least for me) is not just sitting in my apartment patiently waiting for something to happen – my waiting is filled with trying online dating and apps; talking to friends to set me up; going to events to potentially meet someone. But nonetheless I am still waiting.

I am waiting to find out what happens after June. I will be applying to jobs. I will have an active role in this, but at the same time, I know that part of me will just be waiting. Waiting to see who hires me; waiting to see where there are job openings; waiting to see what my life looks like so I can make an educated choice.

And so I’m waiting. (Maybe not for Godot, although if Godot is God with a message of what I should be doing and how I should be doing it, then that too). Hopefully I will have enough patience, or at least enough humor and imagination to get me through.

 

via Daily Prompt: Waiting

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

