Posted in Daily Prompt, Rabbinical School

AHH It’s Almost Rosh Hashana

I’m slightly in panic mode. I know that having a lot of classes and speeches to write this time of year is normal for rabbis. I just have never been in that position before.

Last week I taught every day but Friday (normally I only teach 2-3 days a week). In addition I had to write a piece for the newsletter, a sermon for Shabbat davening, and a sermon for the start of Slichot.

For the newsletter I took something I had written before and changed it a bit. The Shabbat morning one, I wrote while I was in Sydney. And the slichot one, I tried to write on Friday, but really wrote an hour before I gave it. I am proud of that one though, the rabbi after told me that it was a great sermon and really set the tone, and that it would be a good one to give even if there were 1000 people in the room (instead of maybe 15).

But now I am looking at this upcoming week. I only have two classes. I will most likely have to write for the newsletter and the sermon on Shabbat (both because I have been doing this basically every week since I got to Australia, but also because the rabbi’s wife is due any second). And in addition I have to make sure that the women’s speeches are taken care of for Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur. I will also be speaking during the prayer service to give explanations, but I am also giving a sermon the second night and the second day of Rosh Hashana, and the sermon before Yizkor on Yom Kippur.

I also feel like I need to plan Yom Kippur now because I will be going on a trip (which I am very excited for) right after Rosh Hahana. So much to do!!

I have no clue what I want to say yet! It needs to be meaningful and powerful- both to me and to the congregation. I wish I had time to sit and learn. I wish I had people to talk through ideas with.

I know that it will all get done. I know that this is the new role that I will be taking on, and it’s great to really just be thrown in there. But for now, I am in a bit of a panic.

via Daily Prompt: Panic

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

