Posted in Australia, Daily Prompt

Silence in the Noise

The past three days I have spent in Sydney. My main purpose of being here was to teach classes, but I was only teaching for one hour a day, so the rest of the day I got to explore.

On the first day I was taken to Bondi, and was told that I must take the Bondi-Brodie walk. 20160920_131501.jpgI have to say that it was breathtakingly beautiful. I forget how much I love the water. Even though for a lot of it there were people around (it is a very popular walk for tourists and p20160920_132353.jpglace for locals to jog), there were moments that I could just stare out into the water and find a moment of silence.

There was one moment at these rocks, where the water came crashing in, and all I wanted to do was burst out into tears.  I am not sure why- but that was what I wanted to do (I didn’t though some seeped out.)

20160921_093132.jpgOn my second day I stayed in the city and went to the Opera House. It is amazing that a building can also take my breath away. I know that it is quite simple, that it is just a white building made of concrete and tile – but still, there is something actually magnificent about it, I can’t really say what though.

A friend told me that I must take the ferry to Manly, and so I did. Once again I was in the middle of the water. Hearing the waves around me. At times seeing buildings. At times seeing mountains and trees. And at times all I saw was water, as if there was no end. 20160921_101800.jpg

Following the Opera House, I took a stroll through the Royal Botanical Gardens. It was pouring rain, which I felt made it even more romantic and beautiful. There are giant trees and gorgeous flowers. It is so vast that there was on overwhelming silence of people, and all I could really hear was the 20160921_131304.jpgbirds, the wind, and the rain falling on my umbrella.

Something about traveling to places alone is that there is a lot of time for silence (which at times is great, and at times less so). I was able to stop when I wanted on my walk in Bondi to just sit in the quietful noise and think. I was able to just sit on the boat listening to the waves and the birds and the motor. I didn’t have to talk to anyone (most would think it strange if I really think about it). I could let the crash of the waves silence everything else, giving me an opportunity either to focus on my thoughts or to silence those as well.

 

via Daily Prompt: Silence

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

