Posted in Daily Prompt

It is Possible!

I believe that in theory it is possible to be both modest and stylish. When one dresses “modestly” it doesn’t have to mean that they are wearing frumpy clothing that doesn’t fit properly and in drab colors.

Dressing modestly should not mean that one needs to look like they are old. Nor should it have to mean that one needs to wear lots of layers, something under, something over.

But unfortunately it does for the most part. I think it has become this way for a number of reasons.

  1. Somehow modest came to be that one wears bland colors and everything must be covered. When modest dress is taught, most of the time it is that a woman needs to cover her body so men don’t “get distracted”. So it is obvious that would mean that clothing should be large and unflattering.
  2. For some reason the longer the sleeves and skirt length the more expensive they are. I have found dresses that the sleeves go to mid-bicep or longer, and the bottom for the dress goes to my knees, and it isn’t open completely in the back – but then I look at the price tag and easily it will be $100, but usually much more. I can’t spend $100 per dress for my every day clothing. Even in the Facebook group that shows modest clothing that you don’t need layers, the clothing they show is on the more expensive side. It is cheaper and easier to wear layers (even though it doesn’t always look so great).
  3. If you are willing to wear something over/under then you have many more options of clothing to buy in general. Most dresses are short and have no sleeves (I still don’t get why this is true in the winter too). Or i find, that if it does have sleeves then it will be a mini skirt; or if it is long then it will be sleeveless or backless. So it is just easier to have a pencil skirt to wear under or tight longer sleeves to wear under.

At times I wish we were still in the 1950’s (or really a bunch of years in the past) – but really only for the clothing. The dresses were pretty, but were also modest. I want to go back to a time that one could be modest and stylish. I don’t want to look like I don’t know how to get dressed. I don’t want to wear things that don’t fit. I don’t want to have to wear layers, no matter what the season is. I don’t want it to be obvious that I am dressing in a modest way. I want to look pretty. I want to feel beautiful.

via Daily Prompt: Stylish

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

