Posted in Daily Prompt

My Soul’s Thirst

As I was walking to the grocery store on Shabbat this song in this melody came into my head. Without trying it was just coming out of my mouth, there was nothing else I could do but to sing. Tzama Nafashi, is not even a very common song, but it is one that comes into my head very often.

It is as song about desiring Go, that one’s soul has an intense thirst for God.

It is interesting that this is the song and melody that gets stuck in my head every so often, completely out of the blue. I would classify myself as religious and I am studying to be a rabbi, but something that I don’t talk about very often is God and my relationship with God. So to have this pop in, a song of deep yearning, makes me wonder what I am trying to tell myself (or what God is trying to tell me).

Tomorrow we start blowing the shofar. We hear the wailing sound that is meant to wake us up to repent before Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippor. Tomorrow we also continue to sing Hallel. It is the last Hallel of the year. The final time that we will be singing out Psalms in praise. The last time that we are marking the new moon.

It is through the songs, the melodies, the sounds that bring us into the mood; remind us of the time of the year; remind of songs that make us think of the words that then make us think and contemplate on the meaning both in general and in our own personal lives.

Some songs to get in the Slichot Mode:

Haneshama Lach: Naftali Kalfa & Shlomo Katz; Carlebach

via Daily Prompt: Melody

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

