Posted in Daily Prompt, Life

Yes, I Look Much Younger Than I am…

Yes, I look much younger than I am.

It starts with the confused face when I mention that I finished my MA 7  years ago. Or when I say that I haven’t driven in over 7 years. Or when I say that I haven’t lived with my parents or in my home town for 13 (almost 14 years). Or when we talk about work and accomplishments, and well, my CV is kinda long.

It doesn’t really matter how much make up I wear. Or if I am wearing high heels. I just look young. I know that it will be good when I get older. My mom and my paternal grandmother both don’t look even close to their actual age. But for now, part of me wants to look my age.

Part of me wants people to know that I am 30 (almost 31…), so that I don’t shock a 24-year-old (who might have been hitting on me). Or maybe looking my age would make me feel my age – I don’t feel like I am almost 31. Or maybe it is because I’m not married or have kids or I’m still in school [ye, cultural expectations].

Or maybe I don’t need to try to be that. Maybe it is not only about my youthful skin, but also my youthful energy (something that I am told I have as well).

As my birthday is only a few weeks away, I hope that I don’t lose my youthfulness. Although I do hope that I find myself respected as an adult [even without kids or a husband…]

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

2 thoughts on “Yes, I Look Much Younger Than I am…

  1. Is it really so?
    So you wanna feel to be like 30?
    Amazing.
    I feel really absurd when people( which accounts for 99.9% people besides my family) think that I am younger than my younger sister,…They usually tell me that it’s going to cause a lot of problem in your later life..And I am like… haha…:p

    Like

    1. I do mostly because in my line of work, I feel like people think I am a kid, and I want them to not think that. I think a lot actually has to do with societal norms, that look at someone (especially women) like they are kids unless they are married. So maybe I don’t want to feel like I am 30, but I do want people to treat me like I am 30 (and not 21, or younger).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

