Posted in Life

12 Weeks/1 Week

So I have been in the US now for 12 weeks. It is really hard to believe. My life is Israel seems so far away from me, while at the same time I don’t yet feel settled here, and those are the friends I am still turning to.

A lot has also changed in the past 12 weeks. I got to the US in a relationship, and we broke up as I arrived. At first I was hurt, but being away from him/not talking to him makes me realize that it was not meant to be, but I should just be happy that I had a nice time while I was able to. I have had an extremely intimate conversation with another friend of mine, someone I never thought we would talk about these things. He is also the first person I have ever shared some things with. At times it was uncomfortable, which I told him, and he didn’t press. I am not sure why I decided to continue the conversation, but I did, even through the slight discomfort. It was not a discomfort that he would do anything bad with it, but rather a discomfort of sharing some of my most innermost/private thoughts. I have also reconnected with some people I have not spoken to or seen in a number of years, them welcoming me into their homes when I needed a couch to crash on.

The past weeks have not been so bad, granted 90% of my day was spent at the hospital, and most of the time I did not have energy to do anything after or I had papers to write for class, so I did not have time to do something after.

I did feel isolated. That I am not only away from everyone I know, but I also didn’t really have people to “replace” them with. I did not go out very often, and so once again except for the people I was in class with, I rarely was with people my own age.

It was also strange to be back living with my parents. Even though I am an adult, by living with them I felt like a teenager again. Needing them to go places, the wanting to know where I am going and what I am doing, or just the fact of being under the same roof as them for this long (something I haven’t really done since I was 17). It hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be. They have learned to respect my privacy, and have lightened up with asking questions.

And once again I am moving abroad. Yes, my plan was to move to NY for the year. I even started looking for a place to live. But while that was happening, I on a fluke sent out a CV, and this time next week I will be writing from Australia.

So once again there is a count down. One week till Australia. And one month till my birthday (oh gosh, I’m going to be 31….).

 

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

One thought on “12 Weeks/1 Week

Leave a Reply

