Posted in Daily Prompt

Awe

Working in the hospital these past couples of weeks, I feel like I am constantly brought to a place of awe.

I’m in awe of the doctors and nurses, and really all of the staff that are able care for all of the patients and their families.

I’m in awe of science and technology that we are able to cure so many diseases; create artifical ways of breathing and pumping blood; able to help people relearn to walk or straighten their body.

I’m in awe of the patients- so many are so strong. So many have amazing stories- which might really be being in awe of people in general,but I guess this is a special situation because even with everything that they are going through they are willing to share their stories and lives.

I’m in awe of the families and friends. They are there by the sides of their loved ones day in and day out. They are giving support, even though the time is just as difficult for them. They are putting their lives on hold. They are supporting someone that is in a weakened state, and might not have support for themselves. They are watching their loved one in pain, without being able to do much of anything.

I am in awe of how quickly relationships can be formed. How just smiling will cause another to smile, or start a converesation. How sometimes people just want someone to listen. How a small gesture can bring another person in close.

Really, if we take a moment and look around the world is quite awesome. I think that it is important to take a moment and sit in awe at the wonders of the world.

 

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

