Posted in Quotes

Some Quotes from This Weekend’s Books

When I am at my parent’s house, I tend to read A LOT. Like in the past 25 hours I read 3.5 books. Here are some quotes that I really liked.

“Willful Disregard” by Lena Anderson

Revolution is incompatible with the functioning of the human brain. That is, with being human. We cannot deal with the inherent absolutism and abrubtness of revolution. Everything a human does in gradual. All her insights, all her thoughts, everything that happens and is said is part of a process, layer upon layer of experience gained. Life itself is lived gradually, by defintion, and consciousness is created that way, by evolution. We are drawn to love in order to feel that someone is seeing us. (pg. 42-43)

Also from “Willful Disregard”:

When you love and someone receives that love, the body feels light. When the opposite happens, one kilo weighs three. Love that is just beginning is like dancing on a finely honed edge. It can happenthat a kilo never regains its proper weight, which generates a degree of apprehension in the fearful, the experienced and the farsighted.And in those who do not have Ester’s extraordainary capacity for hope. (pg. 55)

“What is Not Yours is Not Yours” by Helen Oyeyemi

To you who eat a lof of rice because you are lonely

To you who sleep a lot because you are bored

To you who cry a lot beause you are sad

I write this down.

Chew on your feelings that are cornered

Like you would chew on rice.

Anyway life is something you need to digest.- Chun Yang Hee (pg. 53)

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

