Posted in Life

Leaving is Coming Closer- 7 More Days at Work

I have 7 more days at work…

I am sitting here finishing my last conversation group presentation. I decided that our last trip together would be to the US, and then tell them I am moving for a year.

As I am sitting here I am watching the care takers work the residents. A worker tells a resident, “give me your hand” and then making a joke about marriage, with both the resident and worker laughing together.

As I sit her in the office, there are two residents who walk to the dining room on their own, and make sure to say good morning to me.

Yesterday I was talking to some of the family members of one of the residents, and all they say is how great it is that I am here…how can I tell them that I am leaving?

I haven’t told the residents yet that I am going. After speaking to the social workers, I will tell them at the end of next week, so they have a week to know. I just have no clue how to tell them. I don’t know how to say goodbye, as with this population there is even a greater chance that when I come back, they won’t be around.

But more than that, they have become part of me. They are people who I sit and chat with. Who will comment on my clothing or my looks, but also question me about life. So many hours of the past four and half years have been spent here- and the truth is I really do love them.

I worry about who will take over. I worry that they won’t find someone right away, and things will go back to being quiet like they were before I arrived. I worry that there won’t be people fighting for them anymore- be that having special programming or just making sure that they are able to go to Yom Kippor davening.

I’m going to miss spinning around for specific people to check out my outfit. I’m going to miss sitting and reading a book on Jews in America, and hearing what their actual experience was. I’m going to miss hearing stories told as if they were the most regular thing in the world, about starting the State of Israel or living through the Holocaust. I’m going to miss bringing a woman water most mornings and being showered in brachot.

My leaving is coming closer…

I hope that I find the right way to say goodbye, and even more I hope that they find someone great to replace me.

PS. If anyone has ideas of how to say goodbye, I’m happy to hear. The population that I work with is seniors in nursing care (meaning that they need help with most or all of their daily living activities).

 

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

