Posted in Israel, Life, Uncategorized

Six Years!

6 years!

6 years ago today I landed in Israel as a new immigrant. Finally after years of coming back and forth, I decided that this is where I was going to live, for the unforeseeable future.

But here I am 6 years in, and I know that I am leaving in May, again for the unforeseeable future. Usually I have a party on this day, but this year I feel strange doing so- almost like I am lying by celebrating. (That is for another post when I have more time and energy to reflect on this reality).

But on a positive note, I think that I have accomplished quite a bit over the past 6 years:

  • I have been employed the entire time, and only in things that I see as are in my field.
  • I speak Hebrew fluently, and in a way that people can’t tell that I am American, or at think that I have been here for much longer than I have been.
  • I work in Hebrew (speaking and writing).
  • I run a community that still functions.
  • I directed plays, and actually got paid for it.
  • I am a person that people know, and almost everyone knows where my house is.
  • I have been in the same apartment for the past 5 years.
  • I have friends, an apartment, and am financially independent- even 6 years in.

At times I feel like I have been here forever, while other times I still feel like I am new. It will be interesting to see what happens when I go back to the US, a place I haven’t lived in since 2008 (when I was still in college). And interesting of what it will be like, if I do move back to Israel when I am done with school.

But until now- Happy 6th Aliyaversary!!!

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

