Posted in Dating

What I Did for Love

I hope to be able to look back and laugh at all the things I have tried so I could find a husband. Some people are constantly in relationships or going on dates, and then there are people like me that no matter what I do, I maybe go on two dates a year.

I have gone on a date that was set up by a woman I met on the street. I asked her for directions and she then was like, “I think I have someone to set you up with, would you like to?”

I have gone on a date with a guy that my boss set me up with.

I have gone on a date (or maybe a date) with a boy that I was friends with when I was two, his grandmother is my granmother’s best friend. My grandmother found a picture of the two of us, and he wanted it. He happened to be in Israel, and so we went out for coffee.

I have told friends, teachers, shul members what I am looking for. I have filled out forms for my friend’s spreadsheets of single people.

I have signed up for different websites- those that I get to choose people and those that there is a matchmaker. I even spoke to a matchmaker.

I have given my number to children of residents of the nursing home. Sometimes they want to give it to their children-even though they know that our livestyles are vastly different.

One of the residents even had her gandson come to meet me. He is married already, but he has friends. He told me that his grandmother talks about me all the time, and thought he can help. She is worried for me.

I have signed up for apps on my phone. I am even being a beta tester for one right now.

And now I think I have actually done the strangest thing that I could do- but hey it is for love, right? So there is Persian woman in the nursing home. For years she has been trying to get me to make this potion, and but it under my bed and if I do this, she is sure I will get married. She wrote me three notes (similar to a kamea), on goes under my bed, and two get hidden in my house. And then for three weeks in a row, on Tuesday evening,  I am supposed to boil vingar (a full bottle each time), while adding garlic, sugar, cardemon, cloves, cinnamon, and pepper. This mixture after it is boiled goes under my bed. On those Friday evenings I am supposed to light two candles around the faucet in my kitchen. And if I do all this, then I will find a husband quickly- she claims that it is how other people we both know got married and pregnant.

And so for two weeks now I have made this mixture. It makes my house smell sweet and spicy. Every so often in my room, as the mixture is sitting under my bed, has a slight smell of cloves and cinnamon.

I have no clue if this will work. All I do know, is that if people ever tell me I didn’t try hard enough, I will be able to tell them that I did basically everything that I could do- including ancient spells.

Feel free to comment on the craziest things you have done to find love. 

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

