Posted in Stories from the Nursing Home

What are You Dreaming About?

Sitting with one of the residents today, he asked me”what are you dreaming about?” My first reply was “are you asking about what I dreamt last night, or my dreams of the future?” He told me to answer either, and because I didn’t remember my dream from last night, I told him “I hope to do good in the world.” In which he told me, “I think you are doing good in the world.”

I have been thinking about this all day. Firstly, it is such an interesting way to start a question, especially to come from someone with dementia. What would happen if that was how we started conversations with people around us?

I have also been thinking about the other things that I dream about, the things that would have make the conversation long, complicated, too personal.

I dream of a world of peace.

I dream of getting married and having children.

I dream of becoming a rabbi.

I dream of actually doing what I set out to do.

I dream of a world where I don’t need to fight so much to just exist.

I dream of being able to learn all the material I need, and actually remembering it all.

I dream of creating intergenerational communities.

I dream of ways to incorporate indiviual attention for nursing care, so that no one just sitting stareing into space.

I dream of ways to make Judaism more inclusive, and potentially egalitarian.

I dream of traveling to different countries around the world, to experience new and different cultures.

I wish I wouldn’t, but I do, dream of what could have been.

I dream of ways that I think I can do good in the world, and that I am doing it in the right way.

So, what are you dreaming about? 

(feel free to answer in the comments)

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

