Posted in Stories from the Nursing Home

Have You Dated Someone from the Mir?

I had a laugh today at work. One of the men comes from a very relgious community. He is a very sweet man, who I have many conversations with, and even help him put his tefillin on some days during the week.

Today he was with his daughter and son-in-law when I came over to say hello. For some reason he decided tell me that he thinks it is time for me to get married, and asked if I was seriously looking yet. He told me he thinks it would be good for me to find a shadchan (a matchmaker). I told him that I don’t think I am part of a community that dates through a Shadchan.

His question following was what made me laugh. “So, have you dated anyone from the Mir?” When I said no, he then asked which yeshivot I have dated from. (These are questions asked in the very frum world).

He proceded to tell me that I am a very special person (“you are something” as he likes to say),  it is not good to be alone, and if I feel like I am ready and serious about marriage it is a good time to look. He told me that it will happen in the right time, which his son-in-law said he is declaring it to happen, not just giving me hope.

I do hope that it is true. It is very sweet of him to care so much for me, that he wants me to marry someone from “the best” yeshiva he can think of. But it is still funny to me to picture myself married to a guy from the Mir.

 

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

