Posted in Israel

Being on the Side of the Ones who People are Praying For

For the past few weeks things have been crazy here in Israel, to say the least. Things (please God may they stay this way) have slowed down, but only a week a go there were averaging 5 stabbings a day throughout the country. That did not include rocks being thrown, or other acts of violence.

While all this is going on in my streets. Where my friends, family and neighbors are afraid to walk down the streets. Where the busy places are almost empty. Where when you walk behind someone they are jumpy and look you up and down. Where you never really know if the quiet is a real quiet or if it is the quiet before something happens.

While that is what is going on, I am reading articles saying that it isn’t happening. I am reading articles saying that we deserve to be knifed down by 13 year olds (which how the heck did they learn to kill another human with a knife?!). I am reading articles saying that they are not killers, that only those who kill them after they have killed are the killers. I was not reading (until the past week) articles saying for their leaders to stop promoting the killing, instead I am reading articles that say their leaders are telling them that they haven’t killed enough people, and so now they should start with bombs instead of knives.

WHAT HAS THIS WORLD COME TO?!

With all this happening, I am reading friend’s Facebook posts praying for the people of Israel; hoping their friends are safe, wanting them to check in; seeing rallies in cities around the world to fight for Israel; calling for special prayers for Israel.

I have to say that I have mixed feelings about all of this.  It is great to see that there is a feeling of connectivity amongst the Jewish community. I also know that if I wasn’t here, I would be promoting it as well. But I have to say, it is very strange to see my friend’s praying on my behalf. That people are posting about the dangers of my reality. They are posting about the stabbings, the shootings, the rock throwing– all that is happening around me, while I still go to school, work, and out with friends.

Don’t get me wrong, Israel needs all the prayers it can get. It is a very twisted situation at hand, and we just need to pray the right people are put into the right places and say the right things, to please God create peace, so uprisings like this never happen again.

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

