Posted in Israel

It Only Took a Day…

It only took a day to make myself stay awake on a sherut at 1am, just in case something comes at us.

It only took a day for me to start counting sirens and then checking to see how many were injured and killed and where it happened.

It only took a day for me to think twice before going out of the house, even though it is the middle of the day.

It only took a day for me to realize that I am holding my breath, and I need to remember to breath.

It only took a day for me to be over-aware of what is going on around me.

It only took a day for me to notice the quiet in the streets and the intensity of the atmosphere around me.

It only took a day for me to worry about a 10 minute walk from my apartment. Am I going to be hurt? Am I going to see someone else get hurt?

It only took a day for me to feel this way. How are they people who have been going through this for the past few weeks feeling?

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

