Posted in Dating, Life

I Can Do it On My Own…I am Alone…

I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of independence. I have been living outside of my parent’s house since I was 17. I have lived in another country since 2008. I am very capably of taking care of myself.

Being someone that does not always following the mainstream, there are many times that I am on my own. I had to learn how to do things on my own. I had to learn to go places on my own. I had to learn that there was not always going to be someone there to help me.

In someways this is great- I am very independent, which is what society says is a good thing…right?

But at the same time it is very lonely. It is a world where I am on my own. That I sometimes don’t have anyone to share things wtih. That I don’t know how to ask for help, for fear that I people will look down at me or worse just not do it, and so once again I am on my own, being let down by the people around me.

I think that finding the balance between being independent and alone is one of the most difficult…I hope that I can find that balance soon.

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

