Posted in Life

NYC VS. Jerusalem

So after living in Washington Heights for two weeks, I have noticed some similarities and differences between the two places.

Music on the street:

  • Washington Heights- Latin music or rap, all day and all night long
  • Jerusalem- Arsi music or always having a hachnasat Torah

Public Transportation:

Both have little to no air conditioning, and are super hot on hot days. Both are very crowded during rush hour.

  • NYC- comes every 5 minutes (if not sooner)
  • Jerusalem- comes every 15 minutes, if you are lucky

Hot days:

  • Washington Heights- hot and VERY humid
  • Jerusalem- almost no humidity, and at night it cools down (most of the time)

Primary Language in the Street:

  • Washington Heights- Spanish
  • Jerusalem- Hebrew, although depending on where it could be English, French, Arabic, Amharic, or Russian

Some things that are the same:

  • Fruit markets down the streets
  • Shuk type market during the week
  • People actually say hello
  • Not turning on one’s directional signal
Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

