Posted in Life

Hello New York!

Even though the heat makes it feel like Jerusalem in the middle of the summer, it does not sound like Jerusalem, ever. Throughout the day I heard the beat of Latin music, with the added sounds of traffic passing by. Walking on the streets, instead of people speaking in Hebrew everyone was speaking in Spanish. There are cross walks, people walking, people sitting on the sides of the street with friends and family, people trying to sell things…

Even now, as I sit at 9pm music is blasting. Now it is rap instead of Latin. The streets are still filled with people and cars. I know it is the city that never sleeps, but this is something.

I can’t help but feel small and lost. It is nothing like moving to a brand new city to make one realize they know nothing and they need to relearn everything. Where to go grocery shopping, what prices should be, which stores are worth going to, which are not, and even how to get places.

I know that this is just the first day and I know that this is only for a month- so I am pretty sure that I can get through. But it definitely makes me think about what next year will bring when I have to be here for an entire year.

Tomorrow is the big day of starting the new school…I am still in shock that this is all really happening.

Here’s to hopefully not feeling so small and alone. Here’s to hopefully having made the right decision. Here’s to new beginnings.

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

