Posted in Life

Cancellation & Blessings

So, my flight to Tel Aviv was cancelled. It was a bit crazy. The first plane and mechanical problems so we had to get off and change planes. Then the second plane had no fuel, and by the time they started putting some in, they needed to switch the crew. Well, at that point we were supposed to leave 5 hours before- and then they cancelled my flight.

So for the first time, I was on a cancelled flight. I was put up in a hotel. The guy who did my rebooking was really nice, and his shift was over as I was leaving and walked me to where I needed to go. Then I was waiting for the shuttle, and mine wasn’t there, and I asked one of the other drivers if he was going to my hotel, but he wasn’t. But it was late, so he said we would take me anyways, as it was already 11:30pm.

The hotel was really nice. My room even had a living room with it. Then today, I got to the airport with a lot of time because security takes so long. Well, I saw a security line, and asked where the real one was, but the guy said i should shush and just go to the special line. So only 5 minutes for security.

I went to customer service to see if I could get an aisle seat, at least to TLV, and even though there wasn’t one, she bumped me for free to economy plus, and then told me to ask at Newark if there was anything better.

So even though lots of things have not been going well, there are at least a lot of nice people. And I guess, everything happens for a reason, so I will see why all of this was needed. 

Author:

I am prone to overthinking and not to sharing. I decided to start writing and see what happens. So here are some stories and life situations (sometimes words of Torah) of a 30 something single woman, who happens to be a rabbi (received ordination in 2017- so there are posts of what that experience was like), will be working as a chaplain (and worked for years with older adults), is regularly asked what city she is located in (started the blog while living in Israel, found herself working in Australia, and will be in New York for at least a year), and is just trying to figure out her place in the world.

Leave a Reply

