Posted in Israel, Life

How are you?

This is a question that we just ask people. I think that most of the time we don’t actually want to know the real answer, and so in many places, the answer is “ok” or “doing well” or “good”- regardless of if someone is actually doing well or not.

With everything happening in Israel right now, I feel like it is a loaded question. Asking the Israelis in camp or speaking to my friends in Israel- what am I expecting them to answer? “Oh- everything is great!” No, of course it is not. Rockets are falling, friends and families are in the front lines fighting, kids are learning songs that teach them what to do if they hear a siren, and people are doing things while in the back of their mind is “where is the closest shelter”.

But part of me actually wants to ask people, “How are you”. I want to hear what is going on. But I am not really sure how to actually ask that question. And with those who have shared how they are, I am not sure what to say. There aren’t really any words.

Author:

I'm not always the greatest at sharing what is in my head. Here is a place that I am experimenting with sharing my ideas and thoughts. They are about my life, my experiences in becoming a rabbi, things that I see going on around me, and sometimes words of Torah.

Leave a Reply

